American Pharoah…


The last Thoroughbred racehorse to win America’s Triple Crown — Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes — was American Pharoah in 2015. And, no, that’s not an incorrect spelling, per say. American Pharoah got his moniker in a naming contest, and the name was accepted as spelled and submitted — American Pharoah. It stuck for purposes of Thoroughbred racing.

American Pharoah also captured the 2015 Breeders’ Cup World Championships Classic. In so doing, he became the first ever Grand Slam winner — Triple Crown plus BC Classic — in Thoroughbred racing.

But it was California Chrome, 2014’s Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner, who became Thoroughbred racing’s all time money leader this season when he zoomed to victory in March in the richest race on Earth, Dubai’s World Cup. At five-years-old, CC remained unbeaten in 2016 until he raced second in the BC Classic on November 5.

Photo from the personal and copyrighted collection of Barbara Anne Helberg


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s